Is anyone considering CC-0?

Hi all, I’m working at the City of Melbourne now. I’m considering whether CC-0 would be a simpler alternative to CC-BY for our data, which would reduce basically eliminate all the complexity around data licensing and working out whether people can reuse our data.

Is this on anyone else’s radar?

@b.appleyard addressed CC0 in this topic. Hope that helps…

While I’m no lawyer my understanding is that you could license with a CC0 and it would greatly simplify the challenges requiring attribution creates. When I’ve raised this one the general resistance appears to be with the strong desire for many to retain the copyright. As a CC0 puts the data in the public domain I assume there basically is no copyright. This is very appropriate for straight machine generated data (‘no sweat of brow’ to create or group) and I think for some data this is entirely appropriate too. I will propose this where I see a good candidate and see how we go. Interested to see what you uncover too @steve.bennett .

(Whoops, looks like I didn’t finish sending this message from a fortnight ago!)

Thanks! For our specific case (a government body publishing open data in Australia), many of Baden’s reservations don’t seem to apply:

• “Moral rights”? When an organisation is jointly producing and sharing the data, they probably don’t apply?
  • “Certainty”? Is there a concrete example here of usage rights under CC-0 being less certain than CC-BY in Australia? I don’t think CC-BY is particularly “certain” for many users, particularly around attribution requirements. (Licence experts may find it sufficiently “certain”, but not newbies.)
  • “Limitation of liability” - this is something I’ll need to look at more closely.